Technologiepark 21, 33100 Paderborn
+49 5251 1847 001

Voice of Customer

What does Voice of Customer mean?

Voice of Customer (abbr. VoC) is a term of the business world and stands for “voice of the customer”. From a company’s point of view, it refers to any information about customer needs, customer requirements and customer perceptions regarding the own products and services.

In a broader sense, Voice of Customer means the process of collecting the abovementioned information.

Why Voice of Customer?

Companies usually use VoC programs to develop a better understanding of their customers and to get a 360° view of them. Where customer centricity is part of the strategy, it is essential to know as much as possible about customers and their needs. Furthermore, improving customer satisfaction or customer segmentation are also common goals and reasons for dealing with VoC.

 

What is Voice of Customer Data?

One could assume that the “voice of the customer” is limited to audio recordings. However, this is not at all the case: Voice of customer data can be of any kind as long as it reveals something about customer’s needs.

Basically, there is two types of VoC data:

The direct Voice of Customer that is captured via:

  • Surveys
  • Focus Groups
  • Interviews
  • NPS-Surveys
  • etc.

The indirect Voice of Customer that is derived from:

How to collect Voice of Customer Data?

Various methods can be used to collect customer information. For direct VoC, classical methods for customer surveys and the common survey tools are used. For indirect VoC, some options are web monitoring tools, VoE tools or speech analytics software. Additionally, special VoC tools can be used to combine and evaluate data from several channels. Some companies even have their own VoC team responsible for Voice of Customer Analytics and data collection.

Related Posts

Technologiepark 21, 33100 Paderborn
+49 5251 1847 001

Voice of Customer

Was heißt Voice of Customer?

Voice of Customer (häufig durch VoC abgekürzt) ist ein Begriff aus der Wirtschaft und steht wörtlich übersetzt für die „Stimme des Kunden”. Gemeint sind aus Sicht eines Unternehmens jegliche Informationen über Kundenbedürfnisse, Kundenanforderungen und Kundenwahrnehmungen bezüglich der eigenen Produkte und Services.

Im erweiterten Sinne versteht man unter Voice of Customer den Prozess, um genau diese Informationen zu erheben.

Warum Voice of Customer?

Unternehmen verfolgen mit VoC-Programmen in der Regel das Ziel, ein besseres Kundenverständnis zu entwickeln und die berühmte 360°-Sicht auf den Kunden zu bekommen. Wo Kundenzentrierung in der Strategie verankert ist, ist eine möglichst genaue Kenntnis der Kunden und ihrer Bedürfnisse unabdingbar. Häufig ist auch die Verbesserung der Kundenzufriedenheit ein konkreter Anlass, um sich mit VoC zu befassen. Auch zur Kundensegmentierung wird es als Instrument herangezogen.

 

Was sind Voice of Customer Daten?

Man könnte vermuten, dass es sich bei der „Stimme des Kunden“ rein um Audio-Aufnahmen handelt. Allerdings wird der Begriff deutlich breiter ausgelegt: Voice of Customer Daten können ganz unterschiedlicher Natur sein, solange sie etwas über das Kundenbedürfnis verraten.

Grundsätzlich lassen sich zwei Arten von VoC Daten unterscheiden:

Die direkte Voice of Customer wird erfasst durch:

  • Surveys
  • Fokusgruppen
  • Interviews
  • NPS-Befragungen
  • etc.

Die indirekte Voice of Customer wird abgeleitet aus:

Wie kann man Voice of Customer Daten erfassen?

Zur Erfassung der Informationen kommen verschiedene Methoden infrage. Für die direkte VoC kommen die klassischen Methoden zur Kundenbefragung und die gängigen Survey-Tools in Betracht, für die indirekte VoC entsprechende Web-Monitoring-Tools, VoE-Tools oder Speech Analytics Software. Darüber hinaus gibt es spezielle VoC-Tools, die Daten aus mehreren Kanälen kombinieren und auswerten können. In manchen Unternehmen gibt es ein eigenes VoC Team, das für Voice of Customer Analytics und die Erfassung bzw. Sammlung der Daten verantwortlich ist.

Related Posts