Technologiepark 21, 33100 Paderborn
+49 5251 1847 001

Frontline Empowerment

What is Frontline Empowerment?

Frontline Empowerment means the targeted empowerment of certain employees within an organization. Sometimes you find the term “frontline engagement” which has a similar meaning. The empowerment can mean, for example, that employees are given more say or power to make decisions.

The so-called frontline stands for all employees “at the front” – meaning direct customer contact. This firstly includes the agents in customer service or call centres, and depending on the company, also all employees in branches or in the field who are directly in touch with the customer.

“Empowerment” or “engagement” means that the employees are given more say or power for decision-making.

frontline empowerment

How does Frontline Empowerment work?

In practice, there are various means to implement frontline engagement. Here are a few examples:

  • Employees get access to systems in which they can positively influence certain processes for the customer.
  • Employees are given new authorizations so that they can make certain decisions on their own or make changes to solve customer problems (e.g. to prevent transfers to the hotline).
  • Creating new infrastructures to transfer information or tasks from the frontline to the rest of the organization.
  • Greater involvement of the frontline in decisions through surveys (see also Voice of Employee)

What are the benefits?

The empowerment of employees in customer contact is often a targeted means of positively influencing the relationship between a company and its customers. Often the frontline is a relatively isolated area that is poorly connected to the rest of the organization though the employees who work there have a great influence on things such as customer satisfaction.

Frontline empowerment in customer service

Customer service centers are typically set up in a way that employees can answer customers’ questions but have no influence on the underlying structures causing them in the first place. This way, problems are always only dealt with, but not solved at the root. Tying both sides closer together supports the flow of insights from customer contact to the decision-making parties. Thus, frontline engagement can be an effective means for contact reduction. KPIs such as First Contact Resolution (FCR) or Average Handling Time (AHT) can also be improved.

Related Posts

Technologiepark 21, 33100 Paderborn
+49 5251 1847 001

Frontline Empowerment

Was ist Frontline Empowerment?

Frontline Empowerment kommt aus dem Englischen und bedeutet die gezielte Befähigung bestimmter Mitarbeiter innerhalb einer Organisation. Manchmal findet sich auch der Begriff Frontline Engagement, der eine ähnliche Bedeutung hat.

Die sogenannte Frontline steht für alle Mitarbeiter „an der Front“ – gemeint ist im direkten Kundenkontakt. Hierzu zählen mit erster Priorität die Agenten im Kundenservice oder Callcenter, je nach Unternehmen gehören natürlich auch alle Mitarbeiter in Filialen oder im Außendienst dazu, die direkt mit dem Kunden zu tun haben.

Mit „Empowerment“ bzw. „Engagement“ ist gemeint, dass die Mitarbeiter mehr Mitspracherecht oder Entscheidungs-Befugnisse bekommen.

employee empowerment

Wie funktioniert Frontline Empowerment?

In der Praxis gibt es verschiedene Mittel, um Frontline Engagement umzusetzen. Hier ein paar Beispiele:

  • Mitarbeiter bekommen Zugang zu Systemen, in denen Sie bestimmte Prozesse für den Kunden positiv beeinflussen können
  • Mitarbeiter kriegen neue Berechtigungen, damit sie bestimmte Entscheidungen eigenmächtig treffen oder Änderungen vornehmen dürfen, um Kundenprobleme zu lösen (z.B. um Weiterleitungen in der Hotline zu verhindern)
  • Schaffung neuer Infrastrukturen zur Weitergabe von Informationen oder Aufgaben von der Frontline in den Rest der Organisation
  • Stärkere Einbindung der Frontline in Entscheidungen durch Befragungen (siehe auch Voice of Employee)

Was bringt Frontline Empowerent?

Die Befähigung von Mitarbeitern im Kundenkontakt ist oft ein gezieltes Mittel, um die Beziehung zwischen einem Unternehmen und seinen Kunden positiv zu beeinflussen. Nicht selten ist die Frontline ein relativ isolierter Bereich, der zu wenig mit dem Rest der Organisation verknüpft ist. Dabei haben gerade die dort eingesetzten Mitarbeiter sehr großen Einfluss auf Dinge wie z.B. die Kundenzufriedenheit.

Empowerment im Kundenservice

Gerade Kundenservice-Center sind häufig so aufgestellt, dass die Mitarbeiter die Fragen der Kunden zwar beantworten können, allerdings haben sie keinen Einfluss auf die verursachenden Strukturen. So werden die Probleme immer nur bearbeitet, aber nicht an der Wurzel gelöst. Vernetzt man nun beide Seiten stärker miteinander, wird die Zusammenarbeit gefördert und wichtige Informationen können aus dem Kundenkontakt schneller zu den Entscheidern gelangen.  So kann Frontline Engagement ein effektives Werkzeug für Kontaktreduzierung sein. Auch KPIs wie die First Contact Resolution (FCR) oder die Average Handling Time (AHT) lassen sich verbessern.

Related Posts